[SBS Power FM’s CineTown Interview] Yoo Ah In: “I Was Cast As an Idol”

Yoo Ah In appeared as guest DJ on SBS Power FM’s Gong Hyung Jin’s Cine Town segment on 24th July, and SIKseekers got the chance to watch his interview live. He looked so fresh, with smooth baby skin, and was perfectly in a good shape! Check out the videos from this occasion below~

Yoo Ah In – Song Break at Gong Hyung Jin’s Cine Town segment

[Update 07/29] Yoo Ah In Talking About The Kiss Scene

[Update 07/30] Yoo Ah In – Cine Town Highlights on SBS Radio

On this radio interview with PD Min Kyu Dong, who once directed Yoo Ah In in movie ‘Antique Bakery’ (2008), Ah In talked about his opinion on Kim Tae Hee, his real name Uhm Hong Sik, his opinionated tweets and how he ended up being an actor. Can you imagine that Yoo Ah In started his career as an aspiring idol? Woot woot! Here are the translations from this interview~^ ^

 

NOTE: IF YOU FIND THIS TRANSLATIONS BEING COPIED BY ONLY YOO ANGELS FACEBOOK [IMPOSTOR/STEALER/COPYCAT], PLEASE REPORT TO US. THANK YOU!

“I was scouted on the street in front of my school and they cast me as an idol. I was trained to sing.”

DJ Min Kyu Dong asked “How did the opportunity as an actor come to you?”

Yoo Ah In replied that he debuted from early age and he was scouted by a talent agent from a street casting. “Everything started from Daegu [his hometown] when I was in my first year of Junior High. I was scouted on the street in front of my school and they cast me as an idol. I was trained to sing,” he said.

“I majored in art at school. In my heart I already dreamed to be a celebrity. They prepared me to be a singer, but I wasn’t talented [as a singer] and I suffered a lot in auditions.”

“When I was a freshman in Senior High, I tasted acting experience in school and started thinking a lot about acting. I was convinced that my face looked good enough [to cast as an actor] so the idea of becoming one began. I went for ‘Sharp’ [Banolim] acting audition. It was then my career started,” recalled Yoo Ah In on his début season.

 

“My management wanted to create a pretty stage name for me that fitted an idol image. Ain means One and I have to live up to my name.”

Yoo Ah In also talked about his real name Uhm Hong Sik.

“I used my real name Uhm Hong Sik during the ‘Sharp’ shooting. Then I started starring in commercials (CF, advertisements) using name Yoo Ah In. The name Uhm Hong Sik was considered too heavy, old fashion, and not refreshing sound for idol/celebrity name. My management wanted to create a pretty stage name for me that fitted an idol image, so my manager encouraged me to change my name,” he said. “The ‘Ain’ part in Yoo Ah In was taken from German word, means ‘One’, which implies number one and I have to live up to my name,” he laughs.

 

” I like fighting over common sense and passing my opinions on to others. However, I believe we’re going in the right direction and for the better through our friction.”

Yoo Ah In’s statements of belief that sometimes caused war of words on twitter also became the topic of this interview. He said, “It’s the battle of daily life, but it’s going in the right direction.”

“I am an aggressive person. I like fighting over common sense and passing my opinions on to others. However, I believe we’re going in the right direction and for the better through our friction. I have an awareness and tend to move in the right direction to things that I believe.”

“Sometimes I can be tough, sometimes playfully cute arguing. If I want to fight, I will fight, and if I want to lay low, I will lay low.  I know that this is not a familiar/popular way, yet I want to show the new generation [junior actors] that we still can talk and have a discussion while fighting for our ideas. Let’s do it,” he said.

 

“I think Kim Tae Hee was doing great although she caused a long debate and controversy. And it feels good knowing that people had that [dating] idea because of our [believable] acting.”

When asked about acting with Kim Tae Hee in ‘Jang Ok Jung, Live In Love’.  Yoo Ah In revealed that he has a soft spot for Kim Tae Hee even before joining ‘Jang Ok Jung’ days.

“Articles wrote many times that you mentioned Kim Tae Hee as a flexible actress,” said Min Kyu Dong. “Our listeners reaction is that they wish you both were dating for real.”

Yoo Ah In replied, “Personally, I think she was doing great although she caused a long debate and controversy. And it feels good knowing that people had that [dating] idea because of our [believable] acting.”

 

“The most memorable acting to follow close after ‘Jang Ok Jung’ that still remains until now is in ‘Sungkyunkwan Scandal’ with Park Min Young.”

Following his exceptional mellow acting yet he never seems to get any girls in his dramas, Yoo Ah In said, “I seem to match with tragic ending, unrequited love or impeded feeling. The most memorable acting to follow close after ‘Jang Ok Jung’ that still remains until now is in ‘Sungkyunkwan Scandal’ with Park Min Young. It’s the cool and sweetheart oppa that people like and think of us as the most memorable,” he said.

Min Kyun Dong continued, “Let’s talk about the kissing scene.” And Yoo Ah In jokingly replied, “Kiss scene? Tongue action?” (laugh). He said, “It [the kiss scene] was soft, warm and alright. We both gave and received each other good impressions while acting for this scene.”

Having finished shooting ‘Jang Ok Jung’, Yoo Ah In will start promoting his upcoming movie ‘Kangchulie’ (Tin Head) that will be released October this year.

 

After the radio show over, “Yoo Ah In real name” became No.1 Top Trend on Naver and Daum that day! Woohoo~ daebak!

 

[Update 07/31] Shortly after the video of Yoo Ah In – Cine Town Highlights (Funfactory) was released, Yoo Ah In made a head line again. This time is his smooth naked face! Apparently Yoo Ah In showed up naked face on this show after coming straight from the 2 hours sauna session. Check out the news below ^_^ NEWS130731

Here are some more pretty and cute screencaps of smooth skin bare face Ah In from this talkshow~

Cuteness overload!

Check out more cute and funny screencaps of Yoo Ah In at Gong Hyung Jin’s Cine Town in our Facebook album “SBS Power FM’s Gong Hyung Jin’s Cine Town 2013.07.24” ^_^

Translated by © Admin007/Sikseekland

Photos & Screencaptures credit: DC YAI Gallery and @cinetown

=====================================================================

※ Any copying, republication or redistribution of YOO AH IN SIKSEEKLAND’s content is expressly prohibited without prior consent of YOO AH IN SIKSEEKLAND. Copyright infringement is subject to criminal and civil penalties.

Comments
3 Responses to “[SBS Power FM’s CineTown Interview] Yoo Ah In: “I Was Cast As an Idol””
  1. strawberry says:

    Thanks for the translation. The show Cinetown isn’t about cinema? I was hoping they’d be chatting about movies and stuff as well.

    • Furbabe says:

      Cinetown is not only talking about movies, but also actors and film/drama workers/people behind the camera. This time it seems they only focused on Yoo Ah In as an actor.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] As we already knew, Yoo Ah In appeared as guest DJ on SBS Power FM’s Gong Hyung Jin’s Cine Town segment on 24th July, and we have posted his interview and videos HERE. […]



Leave a Reply

