[INTERVIEW] Yoo Ah In at The Satellite Girl And Milk Cow Press Screening

Yoo Ah In’s first voice acting in “The Satellite Girl and Milk Cow” finally had the press conference and screening.

In the press screening of “The Satellite Girl and Milk Cow” held on 27th January at CGV Wangsimni, the director Jang Hyung Yoon along with Jung Yoo Mi and Yoo Ah In who did the voice acting participated. Check out the news videos first~

SSTV

UPTV

OBS News

MBC’s News Today

YSTAR News

In this video Yoo Ah In said that Jung Yumi has always been a good noona to him and he never felt she was acting like his senior [as in acting sunbae].

cute!

Here is the interview of the three of them in this event~

Playing the role of ‘Ilho’ (the satellite girl) Jung Yumi said, “After ‘Queen of the Office’, I was exhausted. But when I received the scenario from the director Jang Hyung Yoon, I could not stop myself from taking a part because of the cute character.”

It’s been known that Yoo Ah In and Jung Yumi have a great relationship, recommending good pieces to each other.

Yoo Ah In joined in ‘The Satellite Girl and Milk Cow’ from the recommendation of Jung Yoo Mi. He said that he hasn’t done much in the movie. He also said that he participated in the movie since he related to the character ‘Gyeong-Cheon,’ who has a cartoonistic and fantasy-like character.

Having directed his first feature-length animation, director Jang Hyung Yoon said that Yoo Ah In and Jung Yoo Mi were the best casts. He was worried if their voices would match the characters, but able to let go of the worry after the first recording session.

Jung Yoo Mi said, “I tried hard myself, but Yoo Ah In gave me so much help. If it weren’t for him, it would’ve gone terrible.”

Yoo Ah In said, “I don’t think we took a big part by doing the voices, but I hope our popularity would help the promotion of the movie. I wanted to help diversify our movie industry. In fact, I feel bad for getting the spotlight, because the production staff spent 5 years to make this movie.”

Director Jang said, “Yoo Ah In was very busy having just finished the filming of ‘Tough As Iron’, but he gladly participated and did his best. I didn’t think it would be possible to work with such a popular actor,” expressing his gratitude for the actors.

Jung Yumi and Yoo Ah In acted together in Skeletons In the Closet and Tough As Iron, but they have never acted in a movie where both of them star together for the whole movie.

Q. While Jung Yoo Mi acted naturally, Yoo Ah In’s acting felt like it was prepared. Did you do anything to prepare for it? Also, you are maintaining a good relationship with Jung Yoo Mi, having co-starred in ‘Skeletons In the Closet’ and ‘Tough As Iron’. Is there a particular reason?

Yoo Ah In: Since it was my first time, I tried to relax. Since I had to use my voice as the only way to deliver, I exaggerated a bit. The singing was not me, but it sounded similar to my voice. (laughs) Jung Yoo Mi is a great friend. We have never co-starred in the same scene [for the whole movie/drama], I hope we get to – in the future.

Q. It must be meaningful to have done a Korean animation. Were there any challenges?

Jung Yoo Mi: I worried if my voice acting would fit naturally to the already-completed picture. It all ended in such a short time. Fortunately, I didn’t have any challenges.

Yoo Ah In: I have a desire to show different aspects of myself. Whatever we create, it is meaningful to work together to make various movies despite tough environment. I’m not sure if I have done my part well, but it was meaningful to have tried it.

Q. The background and characters of the movie seems to describe the current generation. How did you create the characters

Director Jang Hyung Yoon: I wanted to insert metaphorical elements. I feel that animations also reflect our current state. Since we are living in a competitive world, sometimes I feel that we’re losing our hearts, and live like an animal with the clothes of human. (laughs) For the girl, I thought that if a satellite had a mind, it would be lonely. For the milk cow, it was born since I like herbivores.

Q. It was your first voice acting. Did you have any challenges?

Yoo Ah In: I didn’t have much freedom, since the picture was already made. It was different from ADRs where you try to recreate the scene. I have some regrets, but it was a great experience.

Director Jang Hyung Yoon: Only the animations of Hollywood’s Disney and Pixar can cast actors to record their voices first. It was their first voice acting, but they transformed as soon as they entered the recording booth. Both of them did their best. I was surprised with their acting parts that I didn’t even imagine.

Yoo Ah In said, “The Satellite Girl and Milk Cow is a small, but precious movie. I hope we can introduce this movie to wide audiences. While we are the faces of the movie, we also feel embarrassed. Since it is a movie made with the dedication of many people, I hope it gets much exposure.”

Director Jang Hyung Yoon said, “There hasn’t been a successful Korean animation since ‘Leafie, a Hen Into the Wild’. I hope more animations would be successful.”

The Satellite Girl and Milk Cow opens on February 20.

Check more photos from this event in our Facebook in album “The Satellite Girl And Milk Cow Anime 2014”

Interview by: getitk

 

Comments
3 Responses to “[INTERVIEW] Yoo Ah In at The Satellite Girl And Milk Cow Press Screening”
  1. seryun park says:

    Hello, I am seryun, admin of get it k.com 😉

    I like Yoo Ah In sooooooooooooo much~~ Always welcome!!! and anyone can get it photos.
    I am very happy to know sikseekland.^^ and thanks for the disclosing the source of the article.

  2. Laura says:

    So his character will sing?? With the voice that sounds like Sik? Wanna hear it!!

Leave a Reply

