[TRANSLATIONS] Yoo Ah In Interview With Sohu China, February 2019: The Walking Cloth Hanger

So, while Yoo Ah In was attending Birkenstock x Rick Owens 19SS Launch Party and Pop-up Store Opening at I.T Xintiandi Store in Shanghai on January 25 (and co-hosting with Rick Owen‘s wife, muse and creative accomplice Michèle Lamy), he not only posed for Madame Figaro, but also had some exclusive interviews with Chinese media, including one of the largest in China; Sohu. 

At the event, Yoo Ah In accepted an exclusive interview with Sohu Fashion, talking about the collaboration, his fashion style and future work plan. Opening the interview, Sohu praised Yoo Ah In’s acting, his fashion sense and Studio Concrete activities including 1TO10 Series t-shirt, saying:

Among the many popular Korean male stars, Yoo Ah In is definitely propelling in both acting and fashion. In acting, he won Blue Dragon Awards and Baeksang Art Awards in one year, cementing him as the youngest Blue Dragon award winner in the history. His latest film BURNING was also shortlisted in this year’s Academy Awards and competed at the Cannes Film Festival last year. In terms of fashion, his tall and handsome figure –a bit mellow and sexy, rebellious and youthful– made him a veritable “walking cloth hanger”. His love for fashion is not superficial but deep inside. Fans who are familiar with him know that Yoo Ah In still literally oozes the aura of youth.

Here are the translations on Q&A:

 

 

Q: What is your opinion on BIRKENSTOCK X RICK OWENS collaboration?

Yoo Ah In: Rick Owen used to have darker designs [note: Owens is well-known for dark tones, unconventional constructions and brooding complexion of clothing designs]. This time, the series with Birkenstock sparks some youthful freedom. I think this is a very good gift for fans who like these two brands. It brings them a very young and energetic design. It’s a very aggressive collaboration and worth appreciating.

Q: You just met Rick Owen’s wife, Ms. Michèle Lamy. What do you think of her?

Yoo Ah In: In addition to her fashion, I have a lot of respect for Lamy for her spirit and attitude. In my opinion, she is a very special person, she has personality and she’s someone who’s yearning for freedom. I really admire her.

Q: You are wearing Rick Owens today. Are you a fan of him?

Yoo Ah In: Yes, today I dressed in all-black, which is a single item of Rick Owens because I have always been his fan. This is also my favorite style.

Q: Is it your first time coming to Shanghai I.T flagship store? How do you feel?

Yoo Ah In: Actually, this is the fifth time I came to Shanghai I.T Store in private, so I’m very familiar with it and often come here to shop. But this is the first time I came for an event, and I’m very happy.

Q: When you are in Seoul, where do you like to go shopping?

Yoo Ah In: I shop online more than going shopping. Since my home is in Itaewon and my Studio Concrete is in Hannam-dong, I will mainly visit these two places if I have to go shopping.

Q: As an actor and a fashion icon, tell us about your personal style and your advise on the personal style

Yoo Ah In: I don’t keep one particular style. I always play different roles according to the atmosphere of the day and dress up in different styles. It’s also important to find your exclusive fashion trademark at the same time. Like me– if I like a pair of shoes, I will wear it all the time every day. So, I also recommend that you find a style or a piece that suits you. It can be a piece of jewelry or a simple fashion item. Let it be your style, your trademark.

Q: Your studio often supports some young artists. Do you have any artists that you like at the moment?

Yoo Ah In: If I only mention one person, the others may be unhappy. Recently, we’ve just held an audio exhibition. Since our previous exhibitions were paintings and modern art installations, then the audio exhibition was quite unique.

Q: After many years of debut and playing so many roles, which drama or role that impressed you the most?

Yoo Ah In: The most impressive one is BURNING, because this is my recent work, and I’m only in my early thirties but my previous works didn’t show a lot of feelings that represent my current age like that of BURNING. I feel a bit regretful [for not doing this kind of project earlier]. I will try to challenge more characters that I have not tried before in the future.

Q: Are you preparing for a new work recently? What role do you hope to play?

Yoo Ah In: Up until now, I don’t have any works being prepared and I’m not making any decision yet. I have more considerations [about works] than I did in the past. Also, because my latest works were very serious and heavy, I want the next one to be a bit trendy and closer to young people.

Q: Which Chinese actor do you want to work with the most?

Yoo Ah In: I’ve been a fan of Zhang Ziyi, Shu Qi and Daniel Wu Yanzu. They are excellent actors and I’d like to work with them. I would love it if Chinese fans, film and television producers recommend me [to work with them] too.

Q: We’re about to celebrate the Chinese New Year. Could you please send a New Year’s blessing to the fans?

Yoo Ah In: I wish Chinese fans a happy Lunar New Year. I wish you all happiness. Although I don’t have much activity in China, I feel grateful with so many Chinese fans. I will try to meet you through more different opportunities in the future. Please, look forward to my next project!

***

PS: A Chinese actor, Oscar Sun (Sun Jian), posted his photo with Yoo Ah In on January 27 in his weibo account. He said Yoo Ah In is his favorite actor, and it took him big courage to ask for a photo and autograph. He was super nervous but managed to look calm though he was still nervous while taking this photo 😀

 

Translated by Admin M of Yoo Ah In International Fans Community

© Yoo Ah In International Fans Community
=============================================================
※ Any copying, republication or redistribution of YOO AH IN SIKSEEKLAND’s content is expressly prohibited without prior consent of YOO AH IN SIKSEEKLAND. Copyright infringement is subject to criminal and civil penalties.

 

Source: Sohu Fashion | GIF by Ddong

Comments
3 Responses to “[TRANSLATIONS] Yoo Ah In Interview With Sohu China, February 2019: The Walking Cloth Hanger”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] thing with Madame Figaro, ELLE began the article by praising Yoo Ah In’s acting, his fashion sense and Studio Concrete […]

  2. […] reported, Yoo Ah In was interviewed by the China press during the Birkenstock x Rick Owens 19SS Launch Party and Pop-up Store Opening […]

  3. […] In an interview with Sohu China last February, in response to a question about your next project, you said, “At this phase, I think […]



Leave a comment