Yoo Ah In wins Grand Prize (Daesang) for Film Actor of the Year at the 6th Asia Artist Awards

Yoo Ah In got more trophies under his belt by the end of 2021! This time, he bagged home two awards from the 6th Asia Artist Awards (AAA)!

 

 

Organized by Star News and Star Continent, the AAA annual ceremony first began in 2016 and honors both actors and singers across Asia.

On December 2, the 2021 Asia Artist Awards took place at the KBS Arena Hall. Nine Daesangs (Grand Prizes) were awarded at this year’s ceremony. Yoo Ah In was awarded Grand Prize (Daesang) for Film Actor of the Year for his performance in VOICE OF SILENCE. This is his first Daesang after being nominated several times for the grand prize in his acting career. In addition to that, he was also awarded Asian Celebrity Award (Actor category).

 

In his Asian Celebrity Award acceptance speech, Yoo Ah In said, “Thank you for giving me such an undeserved award. I feel embarrassed/humbled to receive an award in front of such wonderful and gorgeous people. It seems today the word celebrity is becoming more and more popular and in the spotlight. Rather than get carried away by the awards given by many people, I will repay all the love and attention. I will study and seek more so that I can exercise my influence for good.”

 

Yoo Ah In next said on his Daesang acceptance speech, “Wow, Grand Prize? Thank you so much for giving me such a big award. I participated in a small-scale movie called VOICE OF SILENCE, and that led to this big award. In the process of making this film, I learned so much that the size of the film and production cost and the budget don’t correlate. To a productions’ genuine artistic value, I will work hard to become an actor who can become the key point for a movie and show the attraction of my role onscreen. Thank you Director Hong Eui Jeong and Yoo Jae Myung sunbaenim. I never got to thank my fellow staff who worked with me before during the awards, so today I’d like to thank UAA CEO, director, and representative~*mentions several names*. I’ll work hard to convey my heart to you all. Thanks for loving me.”

 

Yoo Ah In also had a little interview during the show~

Full translation:
MC Lee Teuk (LT): I’m a big fan of yours, and the artists, celebrities and staff here are welcoming you with great enthusiasm, saying, “There’s another character that only Yoo Ah In can play through HELLBOUND.”
Yoo Ah In (YAI): Thank you.
LT: What does Jung Jin Soo mean to you?
YAI: First of all, after Squid Game starring Lee Jung Jae and Han So Hee’s My Name, HELLBOUND has also received a lot of love. I didn’t know it’d be so loved. Thank you so much. Jung Jin Soo is a person who wants to be trusted, and so do I.
LT: I think he’s a character who wants love.
YAI. Yes, do love him~^^
LT: Actually, from a fan point of view, I really want to see Yoo Ah In more often. Can you please tell me a bit about the works planned for next year?
YAI: There’ll be more works to meet you next year than this year. There’ll be films such as THE MATCH and Hi.5 which I’ve finished filming. Please, look forward, and I’ll show you a better performance.
LT: Looking forward to Yoo Ah In’s even better performance and being more active next year.
YAI: Yes, thank you.

Check out more photos from the AAA event~

 

After the award ceremony, Yoo Ah In posted his selfies past midnight/very early in the morning, looking tired (but happy) πŸ˜€

 

Once again, congratulations to Yoo Ah In for the first Daesang and all the awards that you got this year!!

 

SOURCE

Comments
5 Responses to “Yoo Ah In wins Grand Prize (Daesang) for Film Actor of the Year at the 6th Asia Artist Awards”
  1. Valentina Hesti says:

    congratulations to you.. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ’–πŸ’œβ€

  2. Elsa Wagner says:

    Well deserved awards for YAI, a great actor to watch! Waiting to see your coming movies and kdrama.

  3. Ren says:

    His first daesang, and definitely not the last.

  4. Catherine Pacheco says:

    Here in the US, awards are more often given based on how popular a performer is or how much money was made by the production in which they were involved. I love that an actor with YAI’s artistry and artisanship is being award for his excellence. The kid is brilliant. First saw him in his tiny role in Descendants of the Sun. He took my breath away – a smarmy, snotty little loan clerk and, yet, I was riveted. Went looking for everything I could find him in. His range is astonishing for one so young. Just saw him in and Voice of Silence: YAI’s still proving my initial instinct about him to be absolutely spot on. Wish I were much, much younger so I would be able to see his performances 5-110-20 years from now. Oh, well, I guess I’ll have to be satisfied with what I can get.

    • Furbabe says:

      Glad that you enjoyed his works, Catherine πŸ˜€ Let’s pray that he’ll release lots of works in the near future so we could enjoy them all soon!

Leave a comment